Rants Box

Concepts | Rants | Reflections

Why a Pastor’s Wife? March 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — abbyyabby @ 11:07 pm
Tags:

When I was little, I wanted to be the perfect wife for my husband. I wanted to be a prized wife and a source of pride for my better-half. That my husband and I would work together on a common goal, was my ideal picture of a married life. My husband and I would achieve great feats together, go through adventures together, learn and grow old together.  This picture was enough to excite me to get married.

Then, I grew up and learned that each person has a career path in life which makes him satisfied. Today,  couples pursue different individual career paths in life. This however, means that I would have to live a totally different life detached from my husband (if I would opt for this ideal). This too is ideal. But I don’t want it.

I want to talk, plan, work, go on adventures, learn, and grow old with my husband. The only occupation  for a husband that would need my full assistance (at least apparently these days) is that of a pastor. I would need to be a pastor’s wife to play my “ideal wife’s” role. But I have seen how pastors live. Theirs is a very hard life of selfless serving. It’s not that ideal all along…

But  I still want to talk, plan, work, go on adventures, learn, and grow old with my husband. I still want to be the best wife he would ever have.


Abigail

 

Leave a comment